Home About CAAF The Minister, The Ministry
The Minister, The Ministry and The Authority Board PDF Print E-mail

The Minister

Mr. Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum
Minister for Public Enterprises, Communications, Tourism and Civil Aviation

The Department of Civil Aviation

The Department of Civil Aviation is accountable to the Minister for Civil Aviation through the Permanent Secretary for the Ministry of Public Enterprises, Communications, Tourism & Civil Aviation in the provision of sound advise that ensure the effective and efficient regulation, technical and economic of air transport within Fiji’s 6.5 million square kilometers of Flight Information Region (FIR).

The Department of Civil Aviation is the Government’s focal point to international civil aviation bodies with the likes of the Montreal based "ICAO General Assembly", the link to both the ICAO Montreal based HQ as well as its Bangkok based "Asia and Pacific Regional Office", the Vanuatu based ‘Pacific Islands Aviation Safety Office", the Forum Secretariat sponsored "Pacific Islands Air Services Agreements", the "Regional Steering Committee Meeting for the Cooperative Aviation Programme for Asia and the Pacific", "The Asia/Pacific Directors General of Civil Aviation Conference", the "Association of South Pacific Airlines."

The Department is responsible for the establishment of Air Services Agreements with sovereignties wishing to generate trade, tourism links and diplomatic relations within Fiji through the provisions of air transportation.

The Department is responsible for the facilitation of requests for non scheduled international air operators who wish to make a landing or over flight within our FIR.

The Department is responsible in facilitating the issue of air service licences to international operators wishing to provide scheduled air services into and out of Fiji in accordance with the Air Services Agreement

The Department of Civil Aviation chairs the National Civil Aviation Intelligence Community Committee, the National Aviation Security Committee including the Airport Aviation Security Committees for both Nadi International Airport and Nausori International Airport and represents the Ministry for Civil Aviation in the National Aviation Facilitation Committees and the two International Airports subsidiary Aviation Facilitation Committees.

The Department further represents the interest of The Minister for Civil Aviation in the following Boards;

  1. CAAF Board
  2. Fiji Airways Board
  3. Air Transport Licensing Board (ATLB)

The Department is assisted in its civil aviation safety and civil aviation security functions and roles by its operational arms, which are:

  1. The Civil Aviation Authority of Fiji (CAAF), which is primarily responsible for the technical regulation of air transport stipulated under the Air Navigation Regulations.
  2. The Airports Fiji Limited (AFL), which is tasked under our ANR to look after the CNS/ATM functions of The Minister for Civil Aviation.
  3. The Air Terminal Services Fiji Ltd (ATS), being the Ground Handling Service Provider at our Nadi International Airport in which Government holds majority share

The Department facilitates in the release of Government funds to Airports Fiji Limited for the construction and upgrading of Government airports within Fiji.

The Department provides the Secretariat support services to the ATLB.

Board Members


  • Mrs Lailun Khan


  • Mr Craig Strong
  • Mr Pravish Punja
  • Mr Satish Patel
  • Dr Joseph Veramu